1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Guided Reading- ahhhhh

Discussion in 'Primary' started by spanna20, Jan 11, 2010.

1. How do you teach guided reading? I'm an NQT teaching a yr 5/6 class, i plan to teach guided reading everyday but never seem to achieve this. It always seem to get left off the end after a busy morning/ day. I aim to have a one group sharing a book with myself, one group reading individually with the TA, one group doing a comp task based on what they read with me and the other doing a sentence structure./ spelling task. I do find this a lot to set up,i just wondered how everyone else manages it and plans for it, any tips to help??

Please help
    Thanks in advance

2. Oh, good grief. I'm a student and my mentor is observing me doing guided reading on Friday. I can hardly tell him this, but I have no idea what I'm supposed to be doing and basically just get the kids to read, page by page, and occasionally say "what does that mean?" for tricky words. So I will be coming back to check this thread in the hope that someone makes it clear to me what the FLIP I'm meant to be doing, thereby saving my proverbial!
    Sorry this response is entirely unhelpful to you.

3. tangerinecat

tangerinecat New commenter

1 - with me
    2 - reading for pleasure
    3 - independent work based on book
    4 - laptops (eg Wordshark) or listening centre
    5 - word games eg Scrabble, hangman, acting

We have an hour and 40 minutes before Assembly in the morning - Year 6 do 30 mins Guided Reading first (so it happens), an hour Literacy, 10 mins spellings (which sometimes gets lost).

4. tangerinecat

tangerinecat New commenter