1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Guided Reading - activities for rest of class?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Lilybett, Nov 13, 2011.

1. I'd really appreciate if anyone could let me know how they work this.
    My Y3s are pretty chatty and also pretty fussy! :D When I was a supply teacher, I vaguely remember that I had this Y2 class a few times and the class teacher always asked me to do GR. I'd work with one group, the TA with another, and groups that were not being heard reading did independent writing/drawing activities about their shared text. I wish I could remember the kind of thing she had them doing because now I have Y3, I can't believe a Y2 class could be left to get on like this while the teacher works with one group!
    When I was a trainee (mostly with Y5), I used to hear one group and the other groups would be given something to get on with - e.g. comprehension task based on differentiated versions of the same text. But this was extremely time consuming to prepare, and I don't feel like I know Y3 well enough yet to effectively choose and differenriate a text and set a task based on it. My class are also very 'needy' and will queue up at me, repeating my name and poking me lol to ask things like, 'Can I sharpen my pencil?' hehe, so I just can't see them 'cracking on' with something like this while I work with a group.