1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Guarenteed pay scheme

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by useless, Mar 29, 2012.

1. useless

useless New commenter

I have been asked by an Agency to go on a Guaranteed Pay scheme so they pay me even if there's no work. I said I'd think about it. Has anyone any experience of this? I am a PE teacher - do I have to take any work they offer even outside by subject area?
    Any comments please.

2. les25paul

les25paul Star commenter

In the current climate that sounds like a winner and I'm surprised that any agency is still offering it.
    I expect that there will be conditions such as: you don't work for any other agency, you cannot turn work down and will go to any school or teach any subject they request you to.
    But if you can live with this whats to lose?

3. Moony

Moony Lead commenter

I'd have to say that if you are tough enough to handle any behaviour that being a supply teacher gets you subjected to and arn't too fussed about which subjects you cover it might not be a bad option. Ask for more info on it. What happens if you are sick, how far would they expect you to travel (do you have your own car?), when would they tell you about work?

4. Mrs-Pip

Mrs-Pip New commenter