1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

GTP Trainee looking to apply for NQT position next year

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by breadman84, Jan 4, 2012.

1. I'm currently a GTP English trainee and have just begun browsing job vacancies online. I'm yet to clarify if my training school wish to keep me on for my NQT year as the school is going through a period of transition.
    What I would like to know is what to look out for in job vacancy descriptions from the point of view of a current trainee?
    And
    What should trainees be doing at this time to help towards finding a place for the following year?

2. I'm currently a GTP English trainee and have just begun browsing job vacancies online. I'm yet to clarify if my training school wish to keep me on for my NQT year as the school is going through a period of transition.
    What I would like to know is what to look out for in job vacancy descriptions from the point of view of a current trainee?
    And
    What should trainees be doing at this time to help towards finding a place for the following year?

3. APPLY, APPLY, APPLY!
    I completed GTP last year, and was a bit picky about what I applied to at first, thinking more jobs would come along. I ended up not securing a full time position, and worked 2 days/week for the first half term of this year, before picking up a maternity position where I am now.
    It may be different in a core subject such as English, but if I were to go back I'd apply for twice as many as I did (I think I did about 20(?) applications from January to June)

4. Thanks for that.