1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

GTP Student D&T - Please help

Discussion in 'Design and technology' started by Schm00, Mar 2, 2011.

1. Hi,
    I am a GTP Student teaching Design and Technology and I have a quick question regarding assessment of KS3. At the school I am working at we don't grade projects using the traditional A, B, C etc but instead use the Level Descriptors for the pupils work, for example 4a, 4b, 4c so on and so forth, and give them targets. I'm happy with the levels and the descriptors and what they mean but as I have been grading pupils work and I'm finding that some of the levels I'm giving Years 8 & 9 are lower than the marks they were given at the end of their last year. I have spoken to my subject mentor who is also my HOD. He has told me to try not to mark the pupils down. Problem is I'm finding it hard not to. In some cases a pupil may have been given a 5b at the end of year 7 but the last project they completed I have graded it a 4b (and I thought that mark was generous). He said I should mark the work with a holistic approach and try and find links to the descriptors where I can. My issue with this is if I don't mark the pupil down it is unfair on the pupils that genuinely did get 5b.
    Is this really how I should approach my marking as I don't feel very comfortable with this way of thinking. Could somebody put me straight.
    Thanks in advance
    S
    PS it wasn't really a quick question was it. Sorry about that for who ever reads it

2. Hi,