1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

GTP Sept 2011 - And bricking it.

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by flimsynight, May 24, 2011.

1. flimsynight

flimsynight New commenter

Hi - I'm just wondering if anyone else about to start their GTP in September is as terrified as I am?? I'm going to a fab school, with staff who seem really supportive, and I've been spending a lot of time there seeing how things work, where things are, etc. I have even started teaching part of a few lessons.
    But, as I have no teaching experience apart from this, I am worried that I'm going to be overwhelmed in the first few weeks. I don't really even know how to go about planning a good lesson properly (to involve enough activites to fill the time, differentiation activities, dealing with SEN students, etc) and I'll be thrown straight in with classes of my own to teach. I'm just worried that even if I do the right things in the first lessons (laying out expectations etc) then the minute I actually get into teaching then they will all see my weaknesses and start acting up.
    Maybe I'm just nervous at the prospect of starting a new career, but I can't help feeling a bit shaky about it all! I'm secondary science by the way.

Flims

2. flimsynight

flimsynight New commenter

Hi - I'm just wondering if anyone else about to start their GTP in September is as terrified as I am?? I'm going to a fab school, with staff who seem really supportive, and I've been spending a lot of time there seeing how things work, where things are, etc. I have even started teaching part of a few lessons.