1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

GTP ? School/Other Work Experience People Have Before Applying

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by nbuuifx, Mar 28, 2012.

1. I've just got a place on the primary GTP.
    I have approx 10 years experience in an IT environment, which sometimes involved training adults but that was as close as I got to teaching. I also did a small amount of IT work for a few local schools.
    I did 2 weeks voluntary in Dec 2010 just to make sure teaching was what I wanted, then I started to put things in place ready. I then started again with the voluntary work in Sept 2011 working 2 days per week across a range of year groups. In October I was asked to cover another TA officially for half a day a week (paid). My interview was in January, on the day of my interview a TA had suddenly left at the school and I was asked if I could take over that role full time until the summer holidays. So was able to add that I would be working full time as a TA until the summer holidays.
    I would recommend as much experience as possible though as there is so much to learn in 1 year with the GTP - you do have enough time though to get enough experience in but you may have to get some time off from work to be able to do it.

2. Hi!

I have a place on the GTP due to start this September. Don't let people scare you into thinking you need to work as a TA or I'm a school for the year beforehand. I did 2 weeks full time work experience at the school that agreed to support me and then one day every week when I could. And I was then successful through the interview stages of my chosen provider and I'm looking forward to starting in September.