1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

GTP Independent School

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by oj205, May 1, 2012.

1. Hi All,
    <font size="2"></font>I'm looking for a bit of help here really!I am currently working in an independent preparatory school in Bristol. I am a recent graduate and am currently helping in a number of glasses as well as sport and PE. I am currently writing a proposal to try and persuade the school to fund a GTP for myself next year in Primary teaching. <font size="2"></font>I obviously therefore want to get all the facts (and negatives) that the school might need to know and the commitment they would have to offer and have two main questions:<font size="2"></font>1. How much would it cost the school to put me through the course? I presume that they would have to pay the provider a set fee that could be taken out of my account? 2. The commitment the school would have to give me? Would I work solely with one classroom teacher or over a number of classes etc.I am currently living within a boarding house, and am on a full salary so feel that the cost to put us through the course would be minimal (and if needs be I would be happy to take a salary cut). I also feel like it is win win for the school as I am a young (24), male, graduate teacher interested in primary and have contributed hugely to the school.<font size="2"></font>Many thanks in advance for your replies, and hope these questions have not been answered before! <font size="2"></font>Oliver

2. Hi All,