1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

GTP clarification needed

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by SGTP86, Jan 19, 2012.

1. Hello all,

I am currently in my 3rd year of 4 at the University of Chichester studying Adventure Education. This year is spent out in 'industry' and as I hope to become a primary teacher I have got a job as a full time Y3 and Y4 TA for the year. I have also completed my Forest Schools L3 training, a few climbing and kayaking qualifications aswell as more traditional sports. But anyway...

I have been interested in the GTP for a while now and there is one thing that I am still not 100% on; If I hope to start my GTP year at a school in Sept 2013, do I interview for a classroom teacher in April, May June ish and upon getting offered the job contact the university and try and get accepted on to a a GTP course OR do I contact the university, interview for the course and then go and find a job.

Also, how is a good way to convince your interviewers of your intentions to take part in a GTP course if they have had no previous GTP's through the school?

Thanks
    Stuart

2. Hello all,

I am currently in my 3rd year of 4 at the University of Chichester studying Adventure Education. This year is spent out in 'industry' and as I hope to become a primary teacher I have got a job as a full time Y3 and Y4 TA for the year. I have also completed my Forest Schools L3 training, a few climbing and kayaking qualifications aswell as more traditional sports. But anyway...