1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

GTP accepted abroad?

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by hbw102, Jan 10, 2011.

1. Hello everyone,
    I'm currently on M4 and moved schools last September to further my career by becoming an Assistant Head of Geography and teach A-level. I am considering adventuring abroad as my next career step; probably to somewhere like Dubai where I find the weather and financial incentives very attractive. Is it true that you will only be employed abroad if you took the PGCE route into teaching? I took the GTP route but I am currently studying for a Masters; should I gain my masters before applying?
    Thanks for your help with this.

2. bbibbler

bbibbler New commenter

Most countyies will only accept "Proper" teachers. GTP and the rest of the Micky Mouse qualifictions are only accepted in parts of the UK.

You may be lucky, but it will probably be in a Micky Mouse school.

3. Hi-
    I've been teaching in the Middle East for the past 2 years and I did GTP. Had plenty of International job offers from good schools, so do not be put off applying. Just ensure that you thoroughly research the schools you apply to! PM me if you have any more questions

Good luck! [​IMG]

4. It really does depend where you want to go.
    Some overseas jobs require you to complete an online application, and quite ofetn the first questio will be something on the lines of do you have a B.Ed or First degree with PGCE. If you answer NO, you will not be able to proceed with the application.