1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

GTP - about to start at Worcester 2011, can it really be done with a family too??

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by vicbar, Aug 18, 2011.

1. Hi , I have a GTP place at Worcester starting this September, whilst really pleased to get the place, I am starting to feel a bit panic stricken about quite what I have taken on! Can this really be done alongside family life? I have lots of HLTA experience but as a result I am due to have a hefty teaching commitment from day one, as my placement is in the school where I have been working as HLTA. Any previous GTPers out there - is is normal to feel like this?? I am normally pretty calm!! Any Worcester GTPers - what things have you done so far towards the course?
    Thanks.

2. I am feeling the same, I've got quite a heavy timetable and although I'm just shadowing / team teaching for the first couple of weeks I will be expected to take on the classes within a few weeks. I'm worried about how much planning there will be, and can't start any yet because the teachers whose classes I am taking on are doing the planning for the first 2 weeks, so it's all going to come at once!
    I have put folders together and done a bit of background reading, but I feel like it's the calm before the storm and am expecting to have no time at all for myself come September. BUT, GTP courses have good pass rates (I'm with Derby Uni - they said theirs was 98%) so it must be doable! I'll also look out on this thrad for any advice :)

3. Hi Vicbar,