1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

GTP 2012/2012?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by kelly-marie, Mar 29, 2012.

1. Hi there! New to this and first post! And I think it might be a long one the way I'm feeling - muddled!

Anyway, I am currently volunteering in an infant school to get some work experience between now and July, as I want to train as a primary school teacher. Now, I think I'm far too late to train in September 2012 so I'll probably have to wait till 2013, am I right?

I have considered doing a PGCE (I have a degree in psychology already), but it is the finance that worries me as my boyfriend and I are currently saving up for a house together! I kind of need to be earning and can't really afford to take a year without any proper income! Soooo I thought about the GTP, and it sounds fantastic, BUT the training provider for this in Manchester (where I live) was STORM who are "ceasing to operate" as of August 2012, and there are no signs of a replacement? Does anyone know anything about this that could help me out??

Also, what can I do for the spare year?? 2012-2013? I have a year where I cant begin my teacher training but I want to use it to strengthen my application....any ideas??

2. Hello,
    I don't really know about opportunities in Manchester but a girl on my course moved down south from Manchester as she said that opportunities for the GTP were limited up there. You probably are too late for 2012/2013 entry, I think most programmes are closed around Jan or Feb.