1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

GTCE abolished

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by flower16, Apr 2, 2012.

1. Hi as a teacher i have been paying gtce fees which has been abolished as of now, i have been claiming tax relief and on a different tax code, just wanted to ask what do i do now? will i need to inform hmrc?

2. Hi as a teacher i have been paying gtce fees which has been abolished as of now, i have been claiming tax relief and on a different tax code, just wanted to ask what do i do now? will i need to inform hmrc?

3. asnac

asnac Established commenter

I wouldn't have thought a tax code was impacted on by GTC fees which only ever amounted to about £35 a year meaning about £9 a year in tax relief. So I'd have thought there was no need to do anything. When it comes to submitting your tax return, you can claim it as an expense for 2011-12 but not for future years obviously.

4. ....The GTC (Good Time Clowns) were as total snd utter waste of taxpayers money. Nothing redeeming about them whatsoever and as for paying the fees, well on principle I havent for the last 2 years!!
    ...Glad this quango has disappeared. IMO did nothing for teachers and were a joke from the start

5. I suppose the GTC was meant to be like the GMC is for doctors. As anyone can now teach and PGCE an BEd are meaningless qualifications then the GTC is a meaningless organisation.

6. I got my letter today and am quite happy as they will no longer be taking money from my bank account. Don't know what they did as I didn't miss them before they existed. All it means to me is a leech no more. Yay!

7. historygrump

historygrump Senior commenter Forum guide