1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

GTC

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by mattdanger2, Aug 19, 2011.

1. Hi, first time posting.
    I qualified on a PGCE with QTS in 2005, then worked as a supply teacher for two years before discovering that I had a passion for working with BESD students. I have been working for the past 4 years at a special school for children with emotional/behavioural difficulties as a learning mentor, but have been responsible for teaching the GCSE Art and Design curriculum. Due to the fact that I have been able to gain the best GCSE results in the school's history I have recently been offered the opportunity to complete my NQT induction year, starting in September. This has been excellent news for my career until today, when I was sent an email from the local authority that stated that the GTC have no record of my completion of my course and gaining QTS. I have passed all units, placements and QTS skills tests related to the course, and have a certificate from Edge Hill University which proves this. However, because the GTC claim to have no record of my completion of the course (They have me down as having "deferred my course") the local authority are unable to draft me a contract. I would appreciate any advice in how to proceed. Thanks.

2. Hi, first time posting.