1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

GSCE Math equivalency exam to enter GTP as a teacher of Spanish

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by silparanay, Jan 3, 2012.

1. Hi all, I am applying to the GTP to become a qualified teacher next year. I have a degree in Journalism from the UAB in Barcelona and a certificate of teaching Spanish as a second language (ELE) which would be the equivalent of CELTA for English Speakers. I comply with all the conditions but one: a C in maths. I have equivalent to a D average in Maths. I didn-t like maths, neither my maths teacher ;-) so after I was 14 years old, for secondary education I could avoid maths by studying Greek! That was enjoyable! Well I could never imagine that Math will cross my path ever again! I apply to be Spanish teacher and I have to take a Math exam in English... I have few questions for those who ever had to do the GSCE math equivalency test, please. I have seen few mock exams, some are foundation where you can only get C to E, some are higher tier where you can get A* to E... are them both available at any institution that offers equivalency tests? can I always choose the one I would like to do? in that case... can I check them both and then decide which one to take? I am training basic with bitesize BBC which is nice and easy for basic... any other online resource you may find recommendable? any institution you would recommend me for the exam? thank you, hopefully for the 2012-2013 year I will be a trainee teacher in UK, in the meantime I am in the middle of my working holiday visa in Canada

2. welshwizard

welshwizard Established commenter Forum guide