1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Greenhouse growing

Discussion in 'Personal' started by unhappylil, Apr 4, 2011.

1. Hi
    I am considering buying a mini greenhouse as I would like to grow some of my own herbs, fruit & veg etc. Just wondered if anyone else on here grows their own produce and if so has any tips? I am a novice gardener but I love cooking and using fresh ingredients so I am eager to see what I can grow.
    Thanks
    Lil

2. landaise

landaise Occasional commenter

You don't need a grenhouse for herbs, just a sunny plot or even a window sill! Lettuces are easy to grow as are radishes (they grow in less than a month ) There have been several threads on this and on the Cookery forum there's the allotment thread.

3. Mangleworzle

Mangleworzle Star commenter

Greenhouses extend the growing season though at both ends of the summer, thay also allow several crops to be grown more easily.

4. Our garden is tiny, and I'm pretty rubbish at remembering to water etc, but I have managed lettuces (when slugs don't eat them), tomatoes (you can get 'dwarf' varieties that grow in a pot), rhubarb (bit from OH's mum when he moved here), raspberries (bought the plant), various herbs (not from seed, bought as small plants), carrots, beans (really easy but take over and need a frame to climb up).
    Didn't have much luck with cucumbers or peppers though. Or with strawberries.
    Bought some spring onion plants and lettuce plants yesterday.
    We also have some small fruit trees, although as they were new last year or year before, not established and fruiting yet.