1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Graphics is boring...discuss

Discussion in 'Design and technology' started by dttrainee, Jul 18, 2007.

1. dttrainee

dttrainee New commenter

Before anyone gets worked up, I come from a graphics background. I am a trained graphic designer and have worked in graphics and multimedia companies. I do genuinely enjoy graphics as a subject. Might I say, I have never once designed a point of sale stand until I became a teacher though!

However, during my NQT year, have found it difficult to come up with graphics projects worth doing and that will motivate the kids but that also fit into the set curriculum and materials.

This year I was asked to do a mechanisms project, a packaging project, a photoshop project, vinyl cutting FTP and theory work.

I did a VIP theme park ride opening invitation for the mechanisms one, disposable sports shoe box that oculd be dispensed in school changing rooms and stickers to go round the school enforcing corridor rules.

However, owing to limited resources and the ammount of theory you realistically need to cover, I have found it tough to motivate the kids into doing some work they're genuinely excited about.

I think because of the nature of the job of a graphic designer, you'd 99% of the time be expected to design for other people, so how do we get around this obstacle and make projects that the kids can make personal to them and want to take home?

I am thinking of chaging the boot box to a chocolate bar design next year where the pupils can design their own chocolate bar on ArtCam and make a mould and packaging for it.