1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Grammar!

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by davi_theuk, Jun 5, 2011.

1. davi_theuk

davi_theuk New commenter

Hello everyone,
    I am new in the UK education system. I have been in two local schools so far and noticed that pupils are not taught grammar. Is it everywhere like that, maybe it is different in private and grammar schools? I asked people who left schools 10-15 years ago, and they all said they used to learn grammar, but things changed since then.I also asked an MFL teacher, and she said "no, they do not learn grammar anymore in the UK". That is so weird!

2. wordclass

wordclass New commenter

What do you mean by 'grammar'?

3. davi_theuk

davi_theuk New commenter

I mean the set of rules.
    I mean pupils are not taught them. Teachers just gave a list of vocab e.g. "quand j'etais petit -when i was little", and asked to repeat one hundred times "j'etais petit, j'etais petit" but they did not explain that it was Imparfait and how it was formed. I asked why, and they said "no need, they don't learn grammar anymore".

4. henriette

henriette New commenter

These observations do not in any way reflect the practise in my (ordinary 11-18 community comprehensive) school!

Read this thread:
    https://community.tes.co.uk/forums/t/494013.aspx

5. catmother

catmother Lead commenter

Never seen this happen. I don't think pupils get grammar in English but they certainly get some/a lot(depending on ability) in their ML classes.

6. davi_theuk

davi_theuk New commenter

7. davi_theuk

davi_theuk New commenter

I see, I think it depends on school then? Is it up to teacher to choose if he wants to explain grammar or not?