1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Got shouted at by students in public

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by ecneicsteach, Dec 7, 2019.

1. I'm a relatively new teacher but I am currently not in school because I'm on sick leave. I have been off for a little while. I was walking to the shops and a pupil who I normally teach saw me and was with a bunch of friends who started shouting at me for being off. I ignored them and walked on and by the time I was going back they were gone. I emailed the head to tell him, not because I think he can do anything but because if the kids are hostile when I go back or say anything before I am back in I want them to know. My question is how do I deal with teaching these kids when I go back - I don't know whether to address it directly but it will be a while until I'm back in. I also just don't want to go out anymore in case it happens again.

2. Morninglover

Morninglover Lead commenter

Difficult not to react as you have (fearing to go out again), but DO try to overcome it (perhaps go out when they are likely to be at school).

When you return to school, as the HT what has been done to those pupils (so, if they DO say something, you can reply knowing what happened, e.g. 'So being spoken to by the HT once wasn't enough? Let's go and see him/her again.' etc.) I'd also take great pleasure in enforcing every school rule on them for the next few years - however minor the infringement, pull them up on it. If they claim you are picking on them, you just deny it 'School rules apply to you as well everyone one else' .

But in the long term, don't live in the catchment area if you can avoid it.

Jesmond12 likes this.
  3. lucyrose50