1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Goodness I am BORED

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by mistermanager, Sep 8, 2019.

1. mistermanager

mistermanager New commenter

I have been teaching for 12 years now, having progressed to HoD 8 years ago. I don't really wish to progress further but now find the job so damn easy (I am no gloating).

I can teach standing on my head and now find zero challenge in the job... Ultimately I am bored stiff. I know it may seem an odd emotion to be experiencing, but it is how it is. I do not wish to change school before that gets posted, as I am at the best possible school really. It is also nothing to do with it being early in the term as I have been bored stiff for a couple of years now! Pay, pension and holidays are too good to lose haha! I am also extremely good at my job.

2. sbkrobson

sbkrobson Star commenter

I know! I often feel the same, but then if I look carefully, if I really focus, I'm pretty sure I can see a bunch of individual kids actually there in the same room as me...

3. hhhh

hhhh Lead commenter

There seem to be a lot more joke posts than there used to be. Having said that, some of the (probably) genuine ones seem to suggest that SMT now wants teachers to just 'tick boxes' rather than really care about students as individuals. Perhaps that is very boring for teachers-we used to be encouraged to keep trying new things and were respected as professionals who could keep on learning. As one of the best teachers I knew once said, 'The children keep on teaching you more things; every time you think you have nothing left you learn, you realise that you do!'