1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Goodbye to EYFS?

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by giraffe77, Nov 12, 2010.

1. One of my SMT told me today that the EYFS might be on the way out in the future Government proposals for primary education, to be replaced by a more-formal approach to learning pre-Y1. Just wondering if anyone had anymore information on this; as a F2 teacher, I like to stay well-informed and I haven't read/heard this anywhere else.
    Thanks

teachgeorgie likes this.
  2. One of my SMT told me today that the EYFS might be on the way out in the future Government proposals for primary education, to be replaced by a more-formal approach to learning pre-Y1. Just wondering if anyone had anymore information on this; as a F2 teacher, I like to stay well-informed and I haven't read/heard this anywhere else.
    Thanks

3. sadika

sadika New commenter

Not heard anything but how typical would that be? - Just got going on free-flow etc and the wheel turns a full circle yet again!!!!

4. I hope so!

I don't know what it is but I really struggle with it; I really don't understand why... I guess some people just click with some things and not with others!

5. Also, I was at a Surestart children's centre on placement over the summer and the consultant teacher from the council did mention that it could be in the pipeline but didn't know much else

6. inky

inky Lead commenter

The EYFS got it wrong because it highjacked play. I've moaned enough about that and now it looks like we're going to have to moan about play itself being rejected.

7. inky

inky Lead commenter

Surely in a Surestart setting you make play your startin point?

8. inky

inky Lead commenter

starting