1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Good laptops suitable for Cubase and Sibelius

Discussion in 'Music' started by dilly_84, Feb 14, 2011.

1. dilly_84

dilly_84 New commenter

Morning all,
    I'm afraid that I have no technie knowledge whatsoever so I need you fabulous people to help me out. At the moment I have 2 computers and I have asked if I could have some laptops for my KS4 (mainly) to do their controlled assessments on. I have been told that laptops are not sufficient to run Cubase and Sibelius and that I need 'proper' desktop computers. Is this correct? As I have only the one, small, music room, they want to remove all the keyboards/storage from around the room and replace them with computers.
    However, I would like to have a cupboard/trolley of laptops and thereby leaving keyboards and other instruments easy to get to.
    Therefore, is this an actual possibility? If it is, does anyone have any laptops they recommend and what are the minimum requirements to be able to run both of these programs on?
    Many, many thanks for your time and knoweldge (I'm always jealous of people who can understand these things straight away!)
    Dilly x

2. Who ever told you laptops are not sufficient is talking nonsense. When I'm away from my studio or doing portable recording my laptop runs Sibelius 6 and Cubase 5.5 fine. You will need an audio interface though to reduce clicks and pops due to latency, and to enable students to plug in instruments and record; this would be the same for desktops. Though Sibelius 6 can run okay without an audio interface, just don't expect to record into it and the playback is not very smooth at times.