1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Going up the career ladder

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by valisofronie, Oct 30, 2015.

?

Is the acquired experience enough to apply for a history teacher position?

1. yes

1 vote(s)
    50.0%
  2. No

1 vote(s)
    50.0%
  3. Maybe

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. valisofronie

valisofronie New commenter

Dear TheoGriff,
    I have been working in a primary school as EAL teaching assistant for nearly two years and I feel I need to move further and apply for a position as classroom teacher.
    I am an overseas qualified history teacher with one year full time teaching experience (2005-2006)in Romania.I obtained UK QTS (11-18) in 2009 but never been a history teacher in this country.
    In 2010 I attended a "Return to teaching" course funded by the TDA where I was introduced to the UK educational system, National Curriculum and practices in mainstream secondary schools.
    I have acquired some experience in working with secondary students by volunteering for George Mitchell School as a TA in the history department for nearly 3 months back in 2011 and then I worked as cover supervisor for Step Teachers for 4 months in 2012 in various schools in North London.Pressed by circumstances and willing to work in education I went for a position as EAL teaching assistant in January 2014 looking to improve both my fluency in spoken English and knowledge of planning and teaching. In the meantime, to update my subject knowledge in History I applied for an MA course in International Relations which I recently passed with Merit.