1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Going for promotion?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by jdl11, Mar 15, 2016.

1. jdl11

jdl11 New commenter

Hi folks, would love your thoughts on this.... I am a forth year teacher at the moment, love my job. Really awesome. A second in department role has become available in my dept. the school has advertised it nationally, they did not tell me that this was going to happen. The role as you would expect is kind of the department grunt work but also running a second course the department offers.... In all honesty at the moment I'm not that fussed, im 26, graded good or outstanding consistently and my results are good, I work bloody hard to. Now i have been told by senior leadership that it I do not go for it they would write a negative comment about 'not taking opportunities' on any future references for other jobs outside of the school.... Thoughts?

2. TrueFaith

TrueFaith New commenter

I think if you feel like you would be able to manage both your existing workload and the additional responsibility without letting things slip and would like the challenge, go for it.

That said, if the job has been advertised nationally, don't expect the process to be a 'shoo-in', and prepare in exactly the same way you would for any application/interview...

[edited for clarity]

wanet likes this.
  3. ROSIEGIRL

ROSIEGIRL Senior commenter

What a supportive SLT you have - encouraging you in such a positive way! ;)

Lots of factors to consider pros and cons. What's your gut instinct?

jdl11 likes this.
  4. wanet

wanet Star commenter

Just curious - have many people applied.

5. jdl11

jdl11 New commenter