1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Going back full time after maternity leave

Discussion in 'Parenting' started by goldenglow, Jan 14, 2020.

1. goldenglow

goldenglow New commenter

My part time request was rejected so I’m having to go back full time for a term to avoid paying back the maternity pay. Also, I know a part time job elsewhere us not guaranteed either so I could end up working full time for longer. I’m a primary teacher and I used to bring a lot of work home. The evenings I can manage because LO goes to bed at 7 but I would spend all of Sunday working too and thenSaturday would be housework.

I can’t get to work any earlier than before because nursery doesn’t open until 8. Anyone else gone back full time primary? How did you manage?

2. Aquamarina1234

Aquamarina1234 Star commenter

Do you know of anyone who would drop your baby at nursery for you?
    If you're in Leeds I'm happy to help!

3. goldenglow

goldenglow New commenter

My husband could some days but even so, my school only opens at 7:30 and I used to get to work at 8 anyway so the extra 30 minutes wouldn’t make a whole lot of difference to helping with my workload.

4. Abitofeverything

Abitofeverything Occasional commenter

You might not want to hear this, but reduce the expectations on yourself! Start considering satisfactory good enough. If it doesn't get done between 8-5.30, say, it won't get done. DO NOT WORK ON SUNDAYS - you should be with your family! Prioritse ruthlessly. Share and re-use planning wherever possible. Use whole class marking and peer marking wherever possible. If all of this doesn't work, start looking around for part-time roles. Good luck!

EBC likes this.
  5. charlene09