1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Global Nomad point of view

Discussion in 'Overseas trained teachers' started by Kashoo, Feb 25, 2010.

1. I have been teaching in American schools overseas for the past 15 years. It's interesting but also quite scary to read everyone's comments about the lack of acceptance of teachers with overseas experience in this country. I would think that with such a high population of multicultural society in the UK, teachers with cultural diversity awareness, EAL teaching knowledge, often bilingual, would be appreciated and valued. It is quite interesting that the experience in international system is highly valued and gives teachers the best opportunity to get top jobs everywhere else in the world, but the UK. The whole Cover Supervisors idea is even more horrifying than anything else. Overseas teachers, fully qualified UK teachers are being rejected and cover supervisors who have nothing to do with education teach kids. Where is this country heading? Is it all about money or all about high quality of education? My partner is British and we currently live apart, he is in the UK and I teach overseas. I am planning to move to the UK, but after reading how difficult, close to impossible it is to get a teaching job, I seriously doubt in any success other than retraining. Does anyone have positive experience in finding a job after teaching overseas?

2. BigFrankEM

BigFrankEM Occasional commenter

It seems you might well be a US citizen, though it is not clear.

Do you present the 50 States of the Union and the Purto Rican colony as having an open door for foreign teachers?

Or Australia?

Or Canada?