1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Giving SATs test scores to parents

Discussion in 'Primary' started by foxyferrari, Jul 14, 2011.

1. Hi folks, I'd appreciate some views on this one please. I'm a Y6 teacher and have recently given my class their KS2 SATs levels. I also shared their scores with them (and their parents) where I felt it was relevant - ie the 2 boys who scored 100 and 98 in the Maths and the lad who came from Poland 4 yrs ago with no English who got an amazing score in the Reading. I'm fairly relaxed about letting them have this information. However, my own daughter's primary school is refusing to let parents have the test scores, only the levels. I've asked, twice, and been told it was 'unfair to give some parents scores and not others' so I have made an appointment to see the head and class teacher next week. I've a good relationship with the school and have not been a pushy parent so far but I can feel a bit of a skirmish coming on here. This information should be available to parents if they ask surely? The secondary schools will have this test score information so it is not confidential. What do other schools do?

2. markuss

markuss Occasional commenter

The experts responsible for determining NCT levels will tell anyone that asks that once thresholds are established and levels given, the precise marks then become irrelevant.
    If Level 5 = 60 to 70, then a mark of 60 is the same as 70.
    So, it makes assessment sense just to report the level.
    It also makes it more compatible with the other half of the end of key stage assessment. The TA isn't reported as a mark, is it? That'd be nonsense.