1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Ghosted after Job Application

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by joel120193, Jun 9, 2020.

1. joel120193

joel120193 New commenter

Just a quick advice seeking here, as you will soon understand, there isn't actually much I can do.

I am currently in my second year of teaching, and I am willing to progress in my career so I looked at applying for some jobs. If I didn't get them, no bother.

In February I applied for a Science teacher position, with responsibilities for STEM whole school. In early March, I was told that I was successful in my application and would have an interview the following week, I was just awaiting more details. Then Coronavirus happened.

The date for the interview then passed, and I had heard nothing from the school. I emailed the school and recieved a reply confirming that I would get an interview soon, just to be patient given the circumstances. Fair dos, I thought.

Three weeks later, I sent another email and got a reply saying the school is focusing on the issue at hand, and will be in touch in the future.

I then sent another email mentioning it was two weeks before the deadline for resigning from my current position, and then sent another one week before the deadline, and recieved no reply to either.

Its now been two weeks since I cannot resign from my post, so I therefore cannot start that job in September as I originally intended.

What do I do? I have thought through a few options:
    • Email or ring and ask for an explanation
    • Email or ring and convey my dismay at how unprofessional they have been
    • Email or ring and suggest I have the interview with me taking the job in the new year