1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Getting Year 6 ready for Year 7

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by gibboanseo, Apr 5, 2011.

1. Hi

I am a year 6 teacher and I want to make sure my class are as ready as they can be for Year 6 when they leave me, my question is - what common difficulties do children have when they first come to year 7 that could be avoided? Then I can support my class to try and get them as ready as possible.

2. henriette

henriette New commenter

The things that still (after 20 yrs) irritate me re y7:

• can I go to the loo?

• can i turn over now?
    • should I write that down?
    • starting a new page for every single piece of work, regardless of whether the previous one is finished or not.
    • using a pencil not a pen
    • asking me to tell them the h/w 10 times when I have already made it clear, written it on the board and the H/w manager has put a sheet on the board
    • expecting me to care about/sort out their squabbles: they come to my classroom to learn, not as an extension of their private lives
    • expecting me to be their friend
    I'm sorry if I sound harsh, but some y7's do my head in - they behave like 7 year-olds not y7.
    (btw, my own children are in y7 and y9 and have never suffered from these annoyances as their primaries taught them appropriate behaviour for y7 as you want to and as some of my feeder primaries clearly do not!)

3. phlogiston

phlogiston Star commenter

Starting a new piece of work on the last two lines of a page rather than a new one!
    having too many things with them - one of my year 7s has far too many pens, then gets upset when they go astray, get hidden.