1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Getting to Good

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by Hedda Gabler, Jun 29, 2015.

1. I am an ex teacher who volunteers in a nursery, which is not in a school setting.

Staff have been on a course about getting to good.

They have come back with an idea about sustained play- play should not be interrupted - stop start play should be minimal. No waiting for snack, no queuing for the two wash basins or two toilets .I suppose constructivist play is the pedagogy behind this but I am not sure that the adult role was made clear here

Today I have seen chaos...

Help me out here.

2. dbu

dbu New commenter

we run a similar structure of uninterrupted play but it is built on strong foundations of core routines. ie, snack, sign in your name, wash hands, eat snack, wash up - we spend the first few weeks in September ensuring we constantly reinforce these through 'busy time' and will pull all the children together in small groups to initially explain and recap. it then allows staff in 'busy time' to plan in their role, which maybe for instance to develop imaginative language by modelling and joining in play. we have teach focus' in each room and the adult keeps an eye on routines alongside doing their adult role for that session.

Is this what you meant?

3. doctorinthetardis

doctorinthetardis New commenter