1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Getting the content across

Discussion in 'History' started by Otter2010, Mar 19, 2012.

1. Otter2010

Otter2010 New commenter

I am a student teacher and struggling with getting content across to my students. I am not a Gove-ist "history is all about dates and facts" type at all, but we do need to know what happened (or what might have happened!) to have any kind of interesting things to discuss (not to mention passing our GCSEs). I have discovered that any more than a paragraph or two's worth of reading and the class switches off - and sometimes even that is a struggle. I find myself bashing my head against a brick wall and attempting one of the following:
    1. Trawling the internet (mostly the thinking history website) for some experiential history activity
    Problem - we still don't always now what happened as a result
    2. Trawling the internet for the perfect youtube clip to do the talking for me
    Problem -
    a) this is kind of a cheat for the above reason!
    b) there is no such thing as the perfect youtube clip as my extremely limited hours of sleep demonstrate
    3. Creating a worksheet to do the job for me
    Problem - this is extremely time-consuming (no sleep again)
    4. Trying to "trick" the kids into absorbing the content by coming up with "clever" written activities, e.g. write your own placard as a striking miner and a mine owner, making your desires clear, or the classic write-a-letter-to....
    Problem - I am tired and not always inspired. Also the kids don't necesarily jump to complete the activity with any more enthusiasm than...