1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

getting the best salary

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by ET67, Dec 14, 2019.

1. ET67

ET67 New commenter

I am a Science teacher who has been working as an AP Chemistry teacher in the USA for 3 years. My wife is a Drama teacher. We both want to go home to the UK. We have job offers on the table from schools. An agency in London has set up the jobs. They will take a large finders fee. The said agency is now asking what our salary expectations are so they can negotiate with the schools.

I have always negotiated myself - for all positions from an MPS 6 to UPS 3 to management. Should I be civil to the agency and just say that we will get the best deal for ourselves? I have zero confidence in the skills and capabilities of the agency.

We would greatly appreciate your guidance.

2. sooooexcited

sooooexcited Occasional commenter

If the agency has found the jobs, the schools must be dealing with the agency therefore negotiations will have to be through them.
    Tell them what you're expecting to earn and let them get it for you or let the school tell them they won't pay and negotiate a lower salary which you can then accept or reject.

3. sbkrobson

sbkrobson Star commenter

Correct.
    Having had the agency introduce you, the school are not actually allowed to talk money with you.
    If you really want to hold the reins salary wise maybe the best thing to do is to think of these posts as springboards into something permanent and on your terms, which you can source once you are back here.