1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Getting started teaching in Asia

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by KirstyColdwell, Mar 8, 2018.

1. KirstyColdwell

KirstyColdwell New commenter

Hi,
    I am a primary school teacher from England with a bachelors degree in primary education, 2 years of teaching in a public primary school and English as my native tongue.

I would love to teach in Asia and would just like some more information and advice before I begin my search. Firstly, would I be a suitable candidate? I would only wish to teach children under the age of 11, is there high enough demand for my generalist skills?

Is it possible to apply directly to international schools or do you need to go through a registered company or recruitment agent? With regards to an independent application is there actually much chance of being recruited or would locals or ore experienced teachers be a priority?

With regards to visas do schools sort this out for you or is that something you need to arrange prior to applying/ commencing work? Is it easier to apply when already in the country? Are some countries easier to acquire visas in or have special teachers visas?

Will schools be likely to only employ you for a one- two year contract or can you apply to do sorter terms 3-6months or relief work?

Lastly, are there particular benefits to working in some countries or within some independent school Jains or clusters as opposed to others in terms of treatment of teachers, expectations of progress or international recognition when making future applications?

Sorry for bombarding you with questions and I hope you can help me to answer and begin my journey!

2. the hippo