1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Getting so sick of backchat

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by ros85, Jul 13, 2011.

1. Hiya,
    I've been teaching for nearly 5 years and have just taken on a new role in my department- one of the resposibilites is to help to manage behaviour. So if a member of staff is having problems with a particular pupil, then I'm called in to speak to them, and deal with it from there. I also run a department detention.
    I am getting increasingly fed up with dealing with disrespectful pupils who seem to do nothing but backchat when I'm trying to speak to them about their behaviour. This also happens a lot in my lessons with my own pupils, and seems to be a bit of a whole school problem. Colleagues complain about the same thing.
    Is it too much to ask, to be spoken to like a normal human being? Is it just one of the downsides of being a teacher?
    Please someone tell me there are schools out there where pupils don't speak to their teachers like they're something on the bottom of their shoe?

2. Why not just avoid the talk about the behaviour and let the punishment do the talking? Just say "I don't like that behaviour, it's against our rules and it's going to cost you half an hour of your life. If you would like to discuss it then come along at break time" (they don't).
    Then the whole conversation is cut out. They know they've done the wrong thing - they don't want to spend time lowering themselves to an apology, so rude answering back is what they think will help get them out of it.