1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Getting really downhearted job hunting

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by rjoneslich, Mar 4, 2011.

1. Hi there,
    I'm currently a History PGCE student with a reasonable amount of experience within the educational world - I was a TA for a couple of years before starting my PGCE course.

I've applied for 8-9 jobs, all in different geographical locations as being flexible (or so I thought!) would help me! I have not heard anything back from any of them! It is really doing me down at the moment. I got my covering letter checked by my professional mentor at my Placement A school, and he said it was 'good'.

I suppose all I have to do is keep on applying, but I now reckon i'm not going to get a job - what do people think I could do instead if I were not to get a job?

Many thanks

2. katnoodle

katnoodle New commenter

I'm in exactly the same boat as you, history jobs are so scarce, especially in the South West where I'm ideally looking.
    I've had people look over my applications too and it has been useful but still ultimately fruitless. If I were you I'd be wondering just how honest my professional mentor was! It's easy to say it's good because it would take time and effort to tweak things they would honestly want to tweak. Maybe you could get a few more people to give yours the once-over, and ask them to be brutally honest: would they put you on the shortlist?
    And I'm sure you're doing this already but be smoking hot on spelling, grammar and punctuation. One job I applied for had 85 applicants ... by the end they were binning any with the most innocent of typos!