1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Getting over a driving mistake

Discussion in 'Personal' started by giraffe, Mar 21, 2012.

1. giraffe

giraffe New commenter

I'm finding it hard to forget about a silly driving mistake I made earlier this morning. Will you indulge me in posting here so that I can get it out of my system? Helpful and consoling comments very welcome.

My driving is usually pretty smooth nowadays, nearly a year after passing my test. I am a safe and considerate driver. I occasionally make minor mistakes, but not often.
    Today at a junction as I was turning right onto a main road, I underestimated the curve of the kerb and went right up onto it with both right wheels for a couple of yards. It was a grassed verge-roundabout sort of area, so not a pavement or anything risky to pedestrians. I was going slowly in a low enough gear and kept fairly good steering, despite a solid bump up and back down onto the road.
    Checked my tyres and steering afterwards; seem fine as far as I can feel.
    Scared myself poopless and feeling very disheartened about it. Embarassed about who saw it and what they might be saying to themselves about silly women drivers.

2. giraffe

giraffe New commenter

I'm finding it hard to forget about a silly driving mistake I made earlier this morning. Will you indulge me in posting here so that I can get it out of my system? Helpful and consoling comments very welcome.

My driving is usually pretty smooth nowadays, nearly a year after passing my test. I am a safe and considerate driver. I occasionally make minor mistakes, but not often.