1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Getting my MA in Poland. Will it affect my TEFL prospects?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by bluedude588, Nov 13, 2019.

1. bluedude588

bluedude588 New commenter

Hi just looking for some advice. My BA is in history and education, and I am a licensed teacher in the US. I am looking at doing my MA in Poland in Russian Studies. Would this impact my job prospects in the TEFL field? I know some countries have visa requirements that stipulate that your degree must be from an English speaking country, but since my BA is from the US I assume I can check that requirement still. I'd love to be able to teach at a university or international school, which is why I am interested in getting a masters degree. Thanks!

2. Ne11y

Ne11y Occasional commenter

It would depend, I think, where you go. You are, as a qualified teacher, already eligible I would imagine.

I am doubtful an MA in Russian Studies would greatly support a teaching application however, unless it was to teach Russian....

3. gulfgolf

gulfgolf Established commenter

It shouldn't make a difference to your visa prospects, though some small number of countries might care. Overall, not an issue. If you're qualified for a visa, an additional degree shouldn't change that.
    As for job prospects in general, the degree is rather irrelevant to teaching TEFL. It won't help you get a job, and it won't give you a salary bump. It could potentially work against you slightly if you put your time into this and don't also demonstrate commitment to keeping current with the pedagogy of language learning.
    If you're teaching history and seeking jobs in that field, the MA could be more beneficial.