1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Getting jobs when school years different/job abroad when partner not a GP

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by beth18taylor, Mar 8, 2017.

1. beth18taylor

beth18taylor New commenter

Hi all,

I'm a Biology/Science teacher working in the north west. I'm very fortunate as I have recently been offered a sabbatical from my school beginning at the end of this school year. My partner is a GP and we both want to try moving abroad for a year to try the international life!

I don't really know where to start though! My boyfriend can only really work in countries such as New Zealand,Australia or Singapore. There are some teaching jobs here but from what I see, there are very different term dates. There are currently no jobs starting in term 3 and I'm worried that if I accept the sabbatical, I will then find there are no jobs coming out with a term 3 start and have to wait until January for a job, reducing my time abroad! Does anyone know if there tends to be term 3 start dates released?

Also, does anyone have any other ideas of places/companies etc that would be interested in both a doctor and a teacher?

Has any other teachers gone to teach abroad with a partner who is not a teacher?

Any advice would be amazing! Thank you.

2. dumbbells66

dumbbells66 Lead commenter

Im sure there are plenty of charities that would happily take you both. The vast majority of international schools will have a minimum 2 year initial contract. It costs a lot to recruit and get you there. And if they know its only for a short period, then you are going home, most half decent schools wont touch you, as they actively look to retain teachers.