1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Getting into teaching after tutoring

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by TinaTutor, Apr 5, 2012.

1. Hi. I really would appreciate some advice!
    I'm 26 years old and I completed a Business Management degree. However, after graduation, I did not find office work appealing and instead became a private tutor. I've done it for 5 years and have gained a extensive knowledge and experience of teaching English, Maths and Science from Key stage 1 to GCSE level. I've even set up my own tutoring centre and hired people to teach with me- giving them coaching on handling behaviour/explaining etc. It's a mini classroom situation, where I teach a group of students at the whiteboard, help them with exercises, mark papers etc
    I've wasted a lot of time being unsure of what I wanted to do with my life. It's only just hit me now that teaching is ME and it's what I want more than anything! I know about all the negatives and the stresses, but in the end, I know this is what I'm meant to be doing. I think I can be good at it as all of my students (I teach groups and one to one) enjoy our lessons and tell me they think I'm the best tutor they've ever had! I know that teaching 30 kids in a classroom is very different, but I'm prepared to give it a shot!
    So the question is how best to get into teaching? I'd like to teach primary I think, although I suppose I could also do Maths at secondary (as it is the closest match to my degree). How would I go about it? What training should I apply for and are there jobs out there for people like me? Is the PGCE the best option? -Is it far too late to apply for sept 2012?