1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Getting into supply teaching

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by twigtwig, Feb 8, 2012.

1. twigtwig

twigtwig New commenter

Hello all

I'll be returning to the UK in June after working in an international school for 3 years. I'm applying for work at home but i think i may have to start supply in September. How do i go about it? What are the best agencies or do i register with the LEA.

I've got 6 years experience so what sort of day rates could i expect.

Thanks

2. twigtwig

twigtwig New commenter

Hello all

I'll be returning to the UK in June after working in an international school for 3 years. I'm applying for work at home but i think i may have to start supply in September. How do i go about it? What are the best agencies or do i register with the LEA.

I've got 6 years experience so what sort of day rates could i expect.

Thanks

3. I would check out some agencies in your area and see what they want paperwork wise.
    For a CRB check you need last five years of addresses, if you have worked abroad you may need some police clearence stuff from the country you have been in.
    Supply teaching is getting more and more complex, New regs (agency worker regulations) will probably be making things even more so.
    For the first twelve weeks in a school starting from the first day you work in a school, and even if you only do one day, for the first 12 weeks an agency will pay you what they like, you need to negotiate up.
    Ball park figure is you say £130 and you will probably get £120 per day if you are lucky.
    LEA supply pools a possiblitiy however most have closed down and handed the biz to the agencies

4. jubilee

jubilee Star commenter