1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Getting into supply teaching in Herts and Essex - any advice? Good agencies?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by missroberts78, Dec 16, 2010.

1. Hi, I am a primary teacher with 7 years experience and want to now teach in secondary. I want to start supply teaching in Jan 2011, but would really like some advice from other professionals on how to get into it? reputable supply agencies in Herts/Essex area? any other advice that could help???? Thanks

2. Supply teaching is finished. Don't do it if you expect to make a living out of it.

3. Sorry to be negative but I have been doing supply teaching in Essex for about 12 years, almost exclusively in Essex. I used to have regular work, sometimes being given a choice of schools but that is no longer true; I have not worked at all since September and I work through several agencies. Every time I contact them I am told that everything is quiet and that schools are not asking for supply teachers.

4. Just read the messages on this forum to realise that secondary supply is VERY difficult to come by. Primary isn't quite so bad but still not good if you are relying on the money. And you need to know that most agencies pay appreciably less than any pay to scale. In my case I'm on less than two thirds of what I would be on if paid by permanent contract.

5. Sorry Luv, you are too late with the supply and the jobs! Supply has dried up and staff turnover in most areas of the country has totally ceased.

6. 1ag

1ag