1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Getting employment with a criminal record.

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by gbar, Aug 21, 2012.

1. Now first things's first. I have a relatively bad criminal record. Well perhaps not "bad", but it is lengthy. I wanted to turn my life around and do something positive so I looked into teaching.

This was a while back and I spoke with several people in the teaching industry before I applied for my PGCE. I was assured that my criminal record wouldn't be a major barrier to me gaining employment, and even the university took me on without any problem.

Now I graduated a couple of years back and have not had a single teaching job since. Agencies won't even take me on for cover supervisor work. I have been told that they can't take me on with my record.

Is it time for me to give up even looking for work in this sector? Or Is there something I can do to 'redeem' myself and perhaps 'gain trust'' so that I become employable?

p.s. nothing on my record bars me from teaching. If it's relevant I can write out what's on my record, I have no problem with that.

2. scienceteacha

scienceteacha New commenter

My harsh side says tough sh1t- you did the crime and now you are suffering the consequences.

My helpful side says the law of averages is if you keep trying, someone will overlook your past and employ you for who you are now.

There's every chance Gove and co may remove the need for a CRB in future and even axe murderers may be allowed into schools.

Have you considered international schools abroad? Maybe this a way of 'decoupling' you from your criminal past!

3. anon8315

anon8315 Established commenter