1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Getting coaching (rugby/football/cricket) experience??

Discussion in 'Physical education' started by Tildabe, Sep 15, 2011.

1. Tildabe

Tildabe New commenter

Hope this makes sense!

I am a primary teacher and have just seen a job that ticks every box for me and could be described as my "dream job".
    However, one of the "essentials" (and the ONLY thing in the person spec I can't currently offer) is 'to coach rugby, football and cricket to match standard'.
    First question is - are they looking for someone who is really good and plays at county level themselves or does this sound like they'd consider someone who is prepared to learn and gain experience but currently lacks it? And any suggestions for subtly asking this question too them? (Its an independent school)
    Second question is, assuming they are not looking for someone who plays at county level has loads of experience, what is the best way (without sacrificing all my weekends for the next 6 months!) to gain some coaching training and experience? I am fully prepared to invest time (and a limited(!) sum of money) into developing this area of my teaching practice anyway but I'm not really sure how best to go about it?
    Ultimately I won't apply for this job if this is going to be the major sticking point as I feel it is best to apply knowing that I tick every box fully, rather than end up binned as I've "not read the job spec" and ruin chances for furture applications but then, as I say, the sport is the only thing I don't have working experience of and would be fully committed to developing... Tough one!
    Ta muchly [​IMG]

2. Tildabe

Tildabe New commenter

Hope this makes sense!