1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Getting an Interview in a Prep School

Discussion in 'Independent' started by William8686, Mar 7, 2012.

1. Hi all,

I am currently in my second year of teaching PE in a mixed comprehensive
    school. I have always wanted to work in a prep school and noticed there are a
    few vacancies popping up.

I was wondering if anyone had any advice on how to boost my
    chances as much as possible.

Do prep schools tend to employ teachers who have already been
    teaching in a prep school or do they also consider applicants from a
    comprehensive school?

Any help or advice would be very well received.

W86.

2. florian gassmann

florian gassmann Star commenter

Just a few random thoughts. First, do the obvious and check the website of any school to which you apply to identify their major sports. Footrball may appear, but rugger, hockey and cricket are more likely - and you would almost certainly be expected to teach swimming.
    If you get an interview, you need to look super-smart (sporting blazer and tie are usual). The HT and governors are likely to want to see you as the public face of the school on away matches, so you need to come across as very positive and outgoing.
    Remember that in a small prep school you may need to offer a second subject.
    Be aware that you may still encounter schools in which the first teams are run by the academic staff rather than the PE master. This is more common in senior schools, but if you do come across such arrangements, they can need great discretion (65-year old latin teacher running the first 11).