1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Get nervous when being observed, struggling

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by GrahamEdgar, Jun 22, 2015.

1. I am an experienced teacher that has recently been put on a support plan due to some requires improvement observations. My problem is I fall to pieces when people watch me. Not had this problem before. Slt being supportive, but I understand I am on thin ice.

any advice for these nerves?

2. Skeoch

Skeoch Star commenter

Paradoxically, be observed more often. If colleagues of all descriptions are in and out of your classroom, they become part of the normal furniture there. Maybe invite a colleague to observe you as a volunteer - perhaps looking for the issues raised in your RI observations. Perhaps get a colleague to observe a specific pupil or group of pupils for pastoral reasons (I found this hugely useful as an observer to understand what my tutor group were doing in class). Perhaps do some observing yourself.

3. Compassman

Compassman Star commenter

You don't fatten a pig by weighing it all the time.......

4. Skeoch

Skeoch Star commenter

@Compassman, that's not what I meant. My line of thinking is that if observation is a rare event, it gets scarier; if it's part of the everyday scheme of things, it's potentially less scary.

If we can pop in to each others' lessons to observe a teacher in order to learn from them, or to observe a class in order to better understand some of the children, or to observe a teacher in order to help them improve, then that must be a good thing. And I'm using the phrase pop in to suggest that it won't be a great all-singing all-dancing affair.