1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Get into German teaching, need feedback please

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by tivana, Oct 15, 2015.

1. tivana

tivana New commenter

Good morning. I am a newbie who just jointed here and need some feedback and honest advice please.
    I am considering changing career and getting into teaching German language. Currently I am an admin assistant in property management and it is extremely time consuming and stressful. I have two children aged 8 and 11 and feel like they have been neglected as their mum is away from home 11 hours a day and then too tired over the weekend. My son just failed his 11+ and I believe this is my fault as I did not have enough time to closely monitor his progress and tackle the issues.
    I have QT status in England with no teaching experience. I was advised by the DE that I need to gain class room experience and then apply for jobs. I cannot afford to lose my income even for couple of months and do not know what my success will be at applying for jobs in this case.

Can you share some experience and thoughts please? I know teaching is quite stressful as well, however I feel attracted by the 13 weeks holiday and more normal working hours.

Much appreciated.

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Oh dear!

I'm sorry that your life is so stressful at present, but . . .

But teaching is also stressful, and your suggestion

Teachers generally do NOT have normal working hours. They work evenings and weekends most often.

Do you work at weekends?

But more important are other factors.

This will make it very difficult for you to get any post.

Almost impossible to gain . . .