1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Generic PGCE Sunderland

Discussion in 'Overseas trained teachers' started by DavidWales5, Feb 11, 2020.

1. DavidWales5

DavidWales5 New commenter

Hello all,

I am considering studying the distance learning PGCE with Sunderland Uni. I am currently teaching ESL in a Chinese Secondary School. Although I am already aware that the course does not bring QTS status, that is not my main concern.

My main issue is that this PGCE is a generic PGCE, meaning it’s not specific to any subject. My degree is in history and following the completion of the PGCE, I would consider moving back to the UK and become a history teacher.

Therefore, my main question is if I was to study the a generic PGCE, would I be able to come to the UK in the future and teach history? Is there a way of converting the PGCE to a subject specific one? Or are there any other routes?

I would very much appreciate some advice about this.

thank you all

David

2. Wotton

Wotton Lead commenter

Remember that to teach in the UK you will need QTS .

TheoGriff likes this.
  3. DavidWales5

Yes I am aware of that. But I can obtain a QTS through Assessment Only. That is not the main point of my post. Does anybody have any information regarding my main point in the original post? Thank you

4. Wotton

Wotton Lead commenter

Meeting the teachers standards is what will get you QTS so a generic PGCE may not be a problem but you would be best to speak to a provider of the assessment only route.
    Do you intend to complete the online PGCE and then come back to the UK? You would also need to check if your teaching of ESL would count as teaching experience towards being accepted onto an AO route.