1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

General Advice - 5 year rule and possible to do NQT year in SEN?

Discussion in 'NQTs and new teachers' started by Sian091, Nov 12, 2015.

1. Sian091

Sian091 New commenter

Hi all,

I'm new to the forums and could really do with some advice at the minute.

I qualified in June 2014 as an English teacher and since have done a short-term post (less than 2 months) in a school before moving into supply and tutoring for 6 months, so am still an NQT. I've had some horrible experiences both during and since my training, which have nearly drove me out of the profession altogether - they definitely drove me out of mainstream teaching.

I'm now working as a TA in a Special Needs School (wanted the SEN experience, loved the school and wanted to rebuild confidence) and absolutely love it. I'm in an environment that makes me want to give teaching another try, and am eager to find a position in an SEN school to complete my NQT year. I've looked for clarification though, but am still confused - is completing my NQT year in a SEN school actually possible?

And as well, I'm confused with the '5 year rule' about starting Induction. We may be moving to a different part of the country within the next few years which will limit my options somewhat - if I don't start induction within 5 years of qualifying, what will that mean for doing supply teaching? Will I be able to complete my NQT year later if I miss the 5 year period? And if I am able to start it later, are there any limits about where/how I do it (e.g. could I still do it in an SEN school if that's possible)?

Any advice would be really appreciated!

2. sofia_sen

sofia_sen Occasional commenter