1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Gender differences in the way children play in early years- Role Play

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by kiran87, Nov 11, 2007.

1. Hi my name is dee, i am studying BA in early childhood studies. I am doing my dissertation on gender and how it affects the way in which children to choose to play-particularly focusing on role play activites.
    I am unsure as to what sort of methodology to use to investigate this. I was thinking of setting up the role play on one particuler day as a home corner with dolls and so on. And then on the next day have it aimed towards boys play so construction and record how many boys and girls play with what?
    Any ideas and suggestions please pass them on!
    Many thanks
    Dee
    x

2. Hi my name is dee, i am studying BA in early childhood studies. I am doing my dissertation on gender and how it affects the way in which children to choose to play-particularly focusing on role play activites.
    I am unsure as to what sort of methodology to use to investigate this. I was thinking of setting up the role play on one particuler day as a home corner with dolls and so on. And then on the next day have it aimed towards boys play so construction and record how many boys and girls play with what?
    Any ideas and suggestions please pass them on!
    Many thanks
    Dee
    x

3. I'm not sure that it effects young children so much. Both sexes will play with most items whether they're girl or boy based. i have found that boys will dress up in dresses in nursery as much as girls. they like the home corner as much too.