1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

GCSE results - my first rodeo...

Discussion in 'Heads of department' started by newhod2016, Aug 24, 2017.

1. newhod2016

newhod2016 New commenter

Afternoon folks! I hope results day has been good for all!

I am a rookie Head of Subject and just completed my first year in the role and faced my first set of results with a new GCSE team in a new set up, I have always been a high school teacher, but I am currently working in a college leading GCSE English Lang resit. The upshot is that many students passed and many... also failed and I am just figuring out how to deal with all the inevitable emotions from myself, parents and students. I really felt like I had worked hard on making our team cohesive, making new resources, offering extra sessions, carrying on the practices of the previous, successful Head of Subject.... and it all seems to have not paid off (in my current state of mind)- pretty devastated as a result. I know that there were many successes, but it's hard not to focus on the failures as that is where most of the attention goes.

I would love some sage advice from any kind soul who has been in the same position of dealing with poor results. How did you handle/comfort/pacify upset/angry parents? How did you get over this hurdle and pick yourself back up again.
    Thanking you in advance!

2. Trendy Art

Trendy Art Senior commenter

I would be asking how does this year's results compare to last year?

If you are leading on GCSE English Lang resit - at the end of the day it's the students who have got to do the work. Simple as that.